Is There Hope for Immortality?

Cheese is milk’s leap toward immortality.

Eric Linus Kaplan

There are obviously aspects to me which are temporal and aspects of me which are eternal.  So for example, the timeless sentence “Eric Kaplan wrote in his blog on September 18, 2015” is always going to be true, even after I’m gone.  But the sentence “Eric Kaplan is currently eating an apple” is true a few times during my life-time, and then when my life is over will never be true again.

When we have thoughts or experiences the thoughts or experiences show up in our consciousness.  We don’t make them happen, they burble up from somewhere else.

It’s possible that these thoughts and experience will continue burbling up even after I’m gone  So if the thoughts continue, even though I’m not there to receive them, in some sense what is distinctively me is not affected by my personal destruction.

Maybe that’s okay.  After all, “person” is just a term…

View original post 67 more words

Feel free to make a comment..

